Learning Library

Go To--> Learn About | Financial Benefits

Article: Guide To Financial Benefits

Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1989 (OBRA)

Table of Contents
  1. Social Security Benefits
  2. Medicare
  3. Medicaid
  4. Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA)
  5. Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1986 (COBRA)
  6. Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1989 (OBRA)
  7. Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA)
  8. Private Health Insurance
  9. Long Term Disability (LTD) Insurance
  10. Long Term Care Coverage and Financing

The Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (OBRA) of 1989 is a federal law that provides an extension period of 11 months beyond COBRA coverage for people with disabilities. It was designed to fill the gap between the original 18 months of coverage from COBRA and the eligibility for Medicare (which usually begins after 29 months of disability).

To be eligible for OBRA extension coverage, you must be determined disabled by the Social Security Administration anytime during the first 60 days of COBRA continuation. During this time, you are responsible for notifying the plan administrator. The Social Security Administration has 60 days from the date of determination to notify the plan administrator as well. This notice should be sent to the COBRA plan administrator.

Social Security Online, "What We Mean By Disability"
The definition of disability under Social Security is different from other programs. This informative website describes disability coverage under Social Security and helps consumers quickly and simply to determine their eligibility.

Social Security Online, "Disability Determination Process"
This segment of Social Security Online describes the disability determination process used by the Social Security Administration and has a link to file for disability online.

Disability Benefits 101
Disability Benefits 101, supported by the World Institute on Disability, has comprehensive information on your rights and benefits under OBRA.

Last Updated on 12/27/2017